top of page

Welcome To My Blog

  • Writer's pictureA Simple Hijabi

Birthday Party GRWM + Review.

Updated: Jun 25, 2018


Hey guys and welcome back to my blog!

So for today’s post I thought I’d do a little get ready with me for a birthday party that I went to on the weekend. I’m also going to be reviewing a primark lip gloss and a Bourjois Paris mascara which I used for the first time.



MOTD -

Products I used:

- Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation

- Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer

-Rimmel Stay Matte Powder

- Makeup revolution Redemption Palette Essential Mattes 2

- Sleek Face Form Contouring And Blush palette in the shade light

- Sleek Solstice Highlighter

- Bourjois Paris Volume Clubbing Mascara

- Primark My Perfect Nude Lip Gloss


So the first thing I did was moisturise my face with almond oil, I started using this to moisturise literally last week and lemme tell you, it’s definitely working, my skin has gone so much softer and it’s gone less dry on my eye lids, the tip of my forehead and also beneath my brows!

After I did that I applied 2 pumps foundation to a wet and clean sponge and blended it out. The amount of pumps of foundation I use varies depending on the occasion and how much coverage I want. I then used some concealer which I don’t typically do on my T-zone, under my eyes and on my eye lid as a base for my eyeshadow.

I then set my foundation and concealer with my stay matte powder everywhere apart from on top of my eye lids.

After setting my powder I went straight onto my eyes.

I used my makeup revolution palette for a subtle and soft look. I used a cream shade all over my lids to set the concealer. I set it with eyeshadow instead of powder because it makes the product look more vibrant and actually stay on my eye.

I then mixed the two purple shades in the palette and blended them all over my lid, I applied the lighter purple first then the darker purple. After I did that I used the brown shade and applied that to my crease and blended out towards the inner corner of my eye, making sure the outer corner was the darkest. I then blended everything out with a clean eyeshadow brush.

After doing my eyeshadow I applied the Bourjois mascara which I used for the first time. I started at the roots of my lashes and applied more to my top lashes than I did the bottom.

After doing my mascara I applied some contour lightly onto my cheeks and in the middle of my forehead. I didn’t actually contour I just used it as an alternative to my bronzer.

I then highlighted with my sleek highlighter. I used Subsolar to highlight the inner corner of my eye (the gold one), Ecliptic to highlight my brow bone (the cream one) And highlighted the top of my cheek bone with Hemisphere (the purple one).

I then wiped any excess makeup off my lips and put on the primark lip gloss.


OOTD -


decided to wear a plain red dress that I purchased from new look with a pair of leggings from select. I wore this with a pair of suede heels and pop socks which were also from new look.

I wore a plain black pashmina hijab that I got from my mum’s sister.

Beneath it I did a simple bun and wore a thick black hair band to keep my scarf in place, i find that if I don’t wear a hair band my scarf tends to twist the the safety pins ends up around the top of my head by the end of the day as my hair is really silky. I put the scarf on my head, making sure it was equal on both sides, and pinned it with a safety pin. I then picked up the left side of the scarf and draped it over my right shoulder and draped the right side over my left shoulder.


ACCESSORIES -

I wore two rings out of a pack of five that I bought from select, one on my thumb and one on the index finger,both on my right hand. And on my left hand I wore two gold bangles that I found in the huge stash that my mum has.



PRODUCT REVIEW -

Primark lip gloss - At first I thought the lip gloss was very sticky but after a while I got used to it. The gloss was initially very glossy but after a little while it sort of dimmed down. It lasted a good while and although I had to keep reapplying it throughout the day, it was worth it because it looked good and give a nice affect! Bearing in mind that it was only £1.20 it was a very good lip gloss.

Bourjois Paris Volume Clubbing Mascara - My sister gave me this mascara and I thought I’d test it out. I have quite straight lashes which is quite annoying and I’m too scared to curl them but this mascara made them look nice. It did take a while to wash it off but it’s worth it. It was easy to apply wasn’t really heavy, I find that some mascara make my eyes quite droopy but this one didn’t.



So that was my GRWM party edition. I’ll be sure to do more of these in the future and hopefully they will be better than this one!! If you guys enjoyed this post you can like it and be sure to leave me a nice comment. If you know anyone that might enjoy this post then feel free to share it with your friends!

I want to know what you guys want to read so let me know about that in the comments too, your feedback honestly means a lot to me.

Follow me on my social media’s to get a closer look into my life:

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/asimplehijabi/

Twitter - https://twitter.com/asimplehijabi

Talk to you guys soon,

Stay Modest & Fabulous,

Love Your SimpleHijabi x

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page