top of page

Welcome To My Blog

  • Writer's pictureA Simple Hijabi

Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy Review


 


 

Hey everyone and welcome back to my blog! 

You guys as of the 8th is December I’ve been blogging for a year!! Thank you for all the love and support you’ve given me! I know I haven’t been blogging consistently but I honestly do love it and am very happy for this platform. 

So today I’ve got another review. I started reading this mini series in November and finished it within five days.


About the books:

There are 10 short stories in this series which was published in 2015. It’s about Simon’s journey through the Shadowhunters academy and his journey of becoming a shadowhunter.

The books were co written by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson and Robin Wasserman. But the main author is Cassandra Clare who is best known for the shadowhunters chronicles consisting of: The infernal devices, The Mortal Instruments, The Dark Artifices and many short stories including The Bane Chronicles and Ghosts Of The Shadow Market. 




 

Book 1: Welcome To Shadowhunter Academy 


After living as a Mundane and a Vampire, Simon never thought he would become a Shadowhunter, but today he begins his training at Shadowhunter Academy.

 








 

Book 2: The Lost Herondale


In the early nineteenth century, Tobias Herondale abandoned his fellow Shadowhunters in the heat of battle and left them to die. His life was forfeit, but Tobias never returned, and the Clave claimed his wife’s life in exchange for Tobias’s. Simon and his fellow students are shocked to learn of this brutality, especially when it is revealed the woman was pregnant. But what if the child survived … could there be a lost Herondale line out in the world today?

 



 

Book 3: The Whitechapel Fiend


Simon learns the truth behind the Jack the Ripper murders – “Jack” was stopped by Will Herondale and his institute of Victorian Shadowhunters.

 







 

Book 4: Nothing But Shadows


It's hard to be a Shadowhunter when you've got demonic powers. Simon learns about the school-time struggles of half-warlock James Herondale in this prelude to The Last Hours.

 







 

Book 5: The Evil We Love


The Shadowhunter Academy has only just reopened following the disastrous rise of The Circle. Now the faculty can finally admit to what happened when Valentine was a student.

 








 

Book 6: Pale Kings And Princes


As a former vampire, Simon's always been sympathetic to Downworlders. But after a training exercise goes wrong, he gets a glimpse into the Shadowhunters' prejudice as he learns about the origin of Helen and Mark Blackthorn, principal characters in The Dark Artifices.

 




 

Book 7: Bitter Of Tongue

After Simon is kidnapped by faeries (why is he always kidnapped?), he uncovers rumours of a secret weapon Sebastian left behind for the faerie queen. He must escape the Fey, relying on his only ally, former Shadowhunter and Dark Artifices character Mark Blackthorn.

 






 

Book 8: The Fiery Trial

Simon and Clary act as witnesses to the parabatai ceremony of Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn ... and discuss their own parabatai plans in this precursor to The Dark Artifices.

 







 

Book 9: Born To Endless Night

After a warlock baby is abandoned on the steps of the Academy, Magnus rescues the child – and brings him home to his boyfriend, Alec.

 








 

Book 10: Angels Twice Descending 

Simon's journey to become a Shadowhunter nears its end as his Ascension ceremony draws closer.


 







 



Review:

  It’s different from her usual work, especially the style of writing, it is definitely different to what I’m used to but i still really enjoyed it.

 I actually laughed out loud at some parts, Simon’s thought process is just very funny. And his banter with Jace is the best thing ever. The way Jace makes up random things to antagonise Simon is actually too funny. 

This year when I read TMI I realised there was a sort of class system within the book; the shadowhunters always the most superior and everyone else was below them for either their demon infected blood or their lack of angel blood. The downworlders have to fight for their rights and even the younger generation aren’t that accepting. These books highlight that and make it an importance. When Simon was a vampire he often had feeling Of injustice but never voiced them, in these books he does. It’s interesting to see the shadow world from his POV, to see how he coped with forgetting everything was very interesting. Simon was always a sort of underdog but he stood up for what he believed in and although it's just a fictional world he can really change the system.

(I think I’m a little too invested in these stories but whatever). 


⚠️ WARNING ⚠️ 

⚠️ WARNING ⚠️ 

⚠️ WARNING ⚠️ 

SPOILERS AHEAD!


I JUST FINISHED ANGELS TWICE DESCENDING AND GEORGE'S DEATH IS THE WORST THING EVER!!! I had a hunch something was going to happen to him because I read a spoiler (i'm always doing this and hate myself so much for it) that said he didn’t deserve what happened and I also knew Simon changed his name to Lovelace after he ascended but it still didn’t even prepare me. I had so much anxiety reading the last 60 pages or so, always wondering when it was going to happen. My heart is broken. He deserved so much better!



Anyway... thanks for reading this post and thank you for those of you who have read all my posts, i don't get that many views but i'm grateful for every single one.

If haven’t already then be sure to check out my last post: noughts and crosses review!

Be sure to follow me on my social medias for regular updates on my life

If you would like to get in touch with me you can do so either via Dm or email me at asimplehijabi@gmail.com


Talk to you guys soon,

Stay Modest and Fabulous,

Love your SimpleHijabi X

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page